Do you go the extra mile for your customers?

Bouquet of flowers and box of chocolatesRecently I spent time talking to Brent Maytham, Senior Network Technician at Gumley House Convent School, about the work we’ve done for them, and he was kind enough to give us a wonderful testimonial:

“Foundation IT went above and beyond the call of duty…The relationship we’ve build with Foundation IT is so valuable to our school. Their support has been outstanding and I have enjoyed working with them, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to other organisations.”

It got me thinking, so many companies claim to go ‘above and beyond the call of duty’, but how many actually do? I asked some members of our team if they could demonstrate when they’ve gone the extra mile, and this is what they said:

Martin Bance, Infrastructure Practice Lead
“Even though I oversee the running of our Infrastructure Practice, and manage a team of ten people, it doesn’t stop me from getting my hands dirty. I’ve worked for other organisations where the managers take a ‘hands off’ approach and are simply there to oversee the running of the department. But like the rest of my team, you’ll often find me in the data centre plugging in cables and actually installing the solutions I’ve helped to design. It’s great because it means I get to work closer with our customers, and get to do all the things I enjoy.”

Lee Dando, Infrastructure Consultant
“Craig and I are involved in an on-going data centre consolidation project, and part of it involves building a new data centre in New York. We’ve made three trips over to the Big Apple so far and it can be hard, especially as Craig had only just got engaged the day before we left for our first trip! With our most recent trip, a lot of the work needs to be done in the evenings and during the night as we’re migrating business critical applications and need to ensure minimal disruption to the client’s operations. It’s a really interesting project to be involved with, and the client is great to work with too!”

Ryan Godfrey, Infrastructure Consultant
“Whilst Iain and I were on-site with one of our education clients, we noticed that the Domain Controllers were spiking on CPU usage and warnings were being generated in VMware. It wasn’t in the scope of the work we were there to do, but we felt it important to perform some diagnosis, and I installed WireShark onto one of the machines to take a brief capture of traffic (it generated a 127MB log file in about 2 minutes of capturing!). From this analysis, we were able to determine that unfortunately the school had a variant of the Conficker virus on at least three machines. We presented our findings to our client, gave them some recommendations on how to overcome the issue, and offered to help if needed.”

Craig Inskip, Infrastructure Consultant
“Iain and I were installing a new UPS for one of our clients. The IT department is located on the first floor, and with no lift it meant carrying the heavy piece of equipment up a tight staircase. We really worked up a sweat that day, but it saved our client from having to carry it, and once we had it upstairs the job was completed without a hitch.”

Thad Spencer, Service Delivery Manager
“I have the first of a recurring set of meetings with a managed service client today, so this morning I stopped at Waitrose and bought them a box of biscuits. I intend to turn this into a kind of tradition. I suppose going the extra mile might have been actually making the biscuits…but then there’s the risk of poisoning customers to take into account!”

Toby Skerritt, End-user Computing Lead
“I spent one Saturday with a client helping them to move their VDI. It was a last minute requirement, but we were flexible and I braved the M4, which was down to one lane because of the snow, to support them through the move. They were very grateful.”

AliceAuthor: Alice Hollis, Marketing Manager
Alice takes care of our brand, and supports the sales team. Before joining Foundation IT, she worked as a consultant for a number of IT and technology companies, helping to increase their brand awareness and launch new products. Alice also manages the marketing for our sister company, Foundation SP, ensuring close collaboration between both companies and their partners.

Leave a Reply

